Where Is Your Focus?

This post was originally posted in November, 2012 Yet, I keep coming back to it. The first revision was in November, 2015. That one was a major edit. This time I have returned to the original; cutting some information, and adding new information. I do not like bringing politics into a post. But, it is a big part of our culture—and, God has quite a bit to say about culture, so here we go….

Political Conventions and a Presidential Election lay ahead of us, and already there is so much dirt and misleading information in the media, I hate to turn on the TV, listen to the radio, or read any print articles. Am I disappointed? Yes. Am I surprised? No. I did hope that we could talk about issues and solutions without resorting to personal slander, half-truths (the same as whole lies), and other dirty political practices. I was wrong; and again, it looks like we are a nation deeply divided.

It would be interesting to see what would happen if we had a truly viable third party. A party of men and women who care more about their country than they do a political party and their next election. I have observed time and again, that there are not enough of these patriots in either party to be able to govern. Would there be enough patriots in the voters pool to elect these rare politicos? I’m not sure. I hate to say it but, there are far too many voters that vote only, “Who is going to give the best handouts”. It’s a sad reality. Yet, there are politicians waiting in line, who are willing to promise these parasites “what ever it will take” to get their votes. And then, they will borrow the money (perhaps, from our good friends the Chinese) in order to keep their voters—whom they cry for—enslaved.

Anyway, suppose we were to find these patriots who are not reflections of our culture; and we get them elected? How much can they compromise in order to govern? Think about it. What principles, or values, would you not compromise on? Where would you absolutely draw the line? Know what? I’ll guarantee you, a lot of the people you know will differ with you. Some may be far to the right, or to the left! Others, up or down. In fact, more and more people will tell you that there is never a hard and fast line (or rule) about, …anything”!

It’s called Relativism. Relativism posits that there is no absolute truth; no black or white. What there is, are shades of gray. NO absolute law is even possible. It depends on multiple factors. A quick example: As you read this, how fast are you moving. If you say you are not moving, you are sitting still; I could say, “…you lied”. You are on the surface of the earth and it is rotating at a speed of approx. 1,037.56 mph—at the equator. But, if you are not at the equator, your speed around the earth’s axis would be faster. Then we must consider that the earth revolves around the sun. which is moving through space within the Milky Way Galaxy. So, you may be sitting at your PC; but, you are also, most certainly moving. It’s all relative. Now, try to apply this to our legal system. You will quickly see why the courts are so screwed-up. There is no hard definition of right or wrong. It’s all relative.

The reality of the situation in the United States, and a significant part of the rest of the world, is that this is where we are headed; and, we are picking up speed. I am living my 73rd year. (I’ll start my 74th before the next president is inaugurated). Oh, Yes! I’ve seen change. Some of it good. Much of it, in my opinion, …bad. Am I surprised? Not at all. The Bible is very clear that this will happen. Evil is being taught as good. Good is being taught as evil.

And that is why in our society, kids, beginning in Grade School and continuing through High School have to make decisions about drugs and sex. It is also why so many of these kids make the wrong decision! It is why the divorce rate is so high. Why so many husbands are cheating on wives; and, vice-versa. Rising rates of spouse abuse; legal abortion, including in the third trimester; and “partial birth” abortions. Even the selling of body parts from aborted babies!!! (Over 56-million babies have been killed since 1973, when the Supreme Court decision on Roe vs Wade, made abortion legal in the US). Why do we have so many home invasions? So much fraudulent this, and fraudulent that? Embezzlement? Child abuse? I could go on, …and, on.

Now, consider this? Our form of government is a Representational Democracy. Our government is (and should be) a reflection of our society. It should, therefore come as no surprise that in a society that is selfish, prideful, greedy, dishonest, and with no moral “North Star”, …we see the same characteristics in our politicians! OK, there are exceptions—and that’s the problem—they are the exceptions!

Is there a solution? That we have control over? I doubt it. The United States has turned away from the only source of absolute truthGod. The only one qualified to tell us what is right and wrong is the Creator of the Universe. He set it in motion, He knows exactly how it works. He created life, He knows how it should operate. It should come as no surprise therefore, He would also give us a guide book for living on earth. Our society, in turn, chooses to mock and make fun of Him; and, His guide book, …The Holy Bible. If that doesn’t change very quickly I think the United States will continue it’s decline until….

Nowhere in apocalyptic scripture can I find any reference or prophecy that I can interpret as applying to the United States of America. This tells me that our country will become a non-player on the World Stage, before the End Times. Don’t look now; but we already have a strong start down that path. What will happen to the USA? I can’t say. I don’t know. But I can think of a few scenarios.

1. The moral and spiritual condition of America continues to decline—until it implodes. This could lead to a complete breakdown of society, including riots, collapse of economic systems, energy systems, etc. The USA would not be the first Super Power to experience such a collapse. The Babylonian Empire, The Persian Empire, Greece and then Rome—all, the super-powers of their time. “Ancient history”, you say? And, I respond, “So what”!

2. Terrorists make a dirty bomb and set if off in a major city such as New York, Chicago, Los Angeles, Houston or Atlanta. Remember, it doesn’t have to obliterate the city. It only needs to kill a significant percent of the population from radiation poisoning, and make the city, and a large area down-wind unlivable as well. This could easily lead to panic and the collapse of our debt-weakened economy.

3. An electromagnetic pulse (EMP) attack. A flash of light 300 miles above Wichita, KS—near the geographic center of the USA—electronic systems all over the USA, and parts of Canada and Mexico, stop working. Computers, are dead. (And what government, major corporation, financial institution, hospital, small business, etc. doesn’t rely on computers). Anything, having an electronic control system (the entire electrical grid, for instance) will be down. Goodbye tele-communications and cellular systems. Vehicles; ships, trains, planes, buses, trucks, and automobiles-all inoperable. The distribution of food, and other materials stopped! (Look around, what items can you identify that did not spend time in a box-car or truck). Emergency systems, police, fire and medical–heavily dependent on electronic equipment, or electronically controlled equipment, are severely handicapped. Even home furnaces and all forms of refrigeration systems and generators will be inoperable. In seconds the US is thrown back in time by 250 to 300 years. There would be “relatively few” immediate deaths. But, multiple-millions will die over time. Mostly from starvation, disease, and exposure. (Oh, the missile was launched from a cargo ship 30 miles off shore. It’s flight time too short for effective defense.)

God is a just God. He will not put up with our sinful behavior forever. We want to drive Him out of our society… He will withdraw. Personally, I believe that process is also well underway. Does this scare me? Yes, and no. I do not fear for myself and my loved ones who are followers of Christ. Obviously, I think about this from time to time. But, I also know Jesus is, and always will be, with us. He will never abandon us. I trust Him to bring us through whatever happens. For others? YES! For them I am greatly afraid. And they should be, too.

What can Christians do?

22 Immediately Jesus made the disciples get into the boat and go on ahead of him to the other side, while he dismissed the crowd. 23 After he had dismissed them, he went up on a mountain-side by himself to pray. When evening came, he was there alone 24 but the boat was already a considerable distance from land, buffeted by the waves because the wind was against it.

25 During the fourth watch of the night Jesus went out to them, walking on the lake. 26 When the disciples saw him walking on the lake, they were terrified. “It’s a ghost,” they said, and cried out in fear.

27 But Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.” 28 “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.” 29 “Come,” he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus.

30 But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”

31 Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”

32 And when they climbed into the boat, the wind died down. 33 Then those who were in the boat worshiped him, saying, “Truly you are the Son of God.” [Matthew 14:22-33. NIV]1

First, we need to heed Jesus’ words and stop focusing on the “wind and waves.” We need to focus instead, on the only One who can really save us. Then, we need to get about doing His business here on earth. We need to model Christian behavior, and lead as many non-believers as possible, to their own personal, saving relationship with Christ Jesus.

The best outcome I can see is either He calls us home; or, the Rapture occurs before God decides He has had enough of this nation’s rebellious behavior. Regardless, only He will be able to bring us through what lies ahead. And, for those He loves, He will.

Abba Father,

In these times Father, it seems like it becomes easier and easier to loose sight of You among the distractions of everyday life. Current events seem to ensnare me. Media blasts me from every side. There seems to be more and more demand on my time. In reality, I know it is Satan—up to his usual tricks. I forget that I can turn off the TV. I can put the computer to sleep. I can even ignore the cell phone calls, or texts, for however long I desire. I can shift my attention from the enticements of this temporary world, to the truly valuable work of God’s eternal Kingdom.

Thank You for reminding me that You Are In Control. That we will get the government that fits Your plan for this nation. If we get what we deserve, …well, I’d rather not go there, again. Perhaps, You will find it in your great Love and Compassion, to give us better than we deserve.

I really don’t know how to pray for this nation as a whole. I know I would like to see a great revival. I place my trust in You, Father. And ask only, that You use me as you desire.

Thank You, Father. Amen.

Avery Goodday

__________

1 Scripture taken from the Holy Bible, New International Version® NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984 by International Bible Society. Used by permission of Zondervon publishing House. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

