Touch-stone Scriptures

I doubt you’ve ever heard the term “touch-stone* scriptures”. It’s a term I just made-up. I was thinking about a post for this week, and getting nothing. So I started looking at some of the scriptures I find most reassuring, challenging, or just favorites—for one reason or another. And, “it” hit me. There ARE scriptures that need to be revisited from time to time. And from now on, I’m going to refer to them as my “Touch-stone Scriptures”. I’m writing them on a list—along with some others, I just find comforting.

Because we are each unique, and have a common (yet unique) relationship with Jesus, I think it safe to assume that, should you decide to create your own list, it will not match mine. Never-the-less, I’ll bet there will be some commonality.

The scripture God hit me right between the eyes with, is Jesus’ answer to the Pharisees and Sadducees that were laying a trap for Him by asking: “Teacher, which is the most important commandment in the law of Moses.” Jesus replied, “’You must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind’. This is the first and greatest commandment. A second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’The entire law and all the demands of the prophets are based on these two commandments’. [Mt 22:36-40, NLT]

The Pharisees often argued about which of the 600+ laws they had classified, was the more important. In fact, sin is sin. And Jesus, by quoting Old Testament Scripture (Deuteronomy 6:5 and Leviticus 19:18) which they definitely would have known, made it clear that 1). He (Jesus) knew what they were trying to do, and 2). they should spend more time living the Law than studying the law.

The specific reason this verse is a touch-stone for me is that 2nd point Jesus made. I’m an “analytical”. I dig into things. And, yes, I very often lose sight of the overall message. So, while I think there are a lot of others just like me in that “analytical” category, I also need to remember that it is me who has that personal relationship with Jesus—and how that relationship is effected by my analyzing, …and not DOING.

Jesus, as I’ve said before, I’m very, very thankful for your love and patience. So often my pride rears it’s ugly head and I get all full of myself. I guess I would have made a good Pharisee or Saddusee, and that scares me. Lord, I love writing this blog; and you know I do it, trying to bring others to a saving knowledge of you, and helping them establish their own relationship with you. But, I think Satan knows that I have this tendency to over-think, and he uses itto my harm. Thank-you for pointing this out to me! Lord, I ask for your guidance, love, patience, and power in this struggle. With you, all things are possible; and no oneincluding Satancan stand against us. In your name I pray, amen.

Larry

* Touch-stone: a test or criterion for determining the quality or genuineness of a thing; a fundamental or quintessential part or feature.

Leave a Reply

